Progress

So I have just six scenes to write and the first draft of The Importance of Being Ernestine is done. The end is so close, and yet there’s still so much to do. There are times that being a writer is frustrating.

What I’m trying to decide is whether to go back straight away and start editing. The six month break I took from this book has resulted in a lot of changes in the story, and in particularly in the depth of the characters. Do I go back and fill those in right now, or do I wait and do it as part of a more substantial edit? I’m kinda thinking the former, so then I’ll be able to put the book away to let it sit properly, rather than getting stuck in thinking I know what I need to fix and missing other stuff.

In other news, this week begins Conflux. I’m doing two panels – one this afternoon on science fiction romance, the other tomorrow afternoon on erotica. I’m looking forward to seeing people again and hanging out but at the same time, there’s my sister’s wedding to focus on (she gets married Sunday) so I can’t totally relax into Conflux.

Hopefully next year I’ll be able to do Conflux properly, like I used to. Although work is looking pretty shocking…

In the meantime – here’s the motivational shark.

Image result for motivational shark

Leave a Reply

