Time to get serious

I’ve been back writing now for about six weeks, but I’ve not written in everyone one of those six weeks. I’ve also not got back to my proper writing schedule.

I’ve been telling myself that I am taking it easy, that I need to be gentle. Well, I’m starting to come to the realisation that is a load of hokum.

I read somewhere once that brains are essentially very lazy things. It requires a lot of energy to get them firing, so they will come up with ways to do things the easy way, or not to do them at all. My brain is particularly good at this – it will expend a great deal of energy on convincing me that really the best thing to do is to just be cool, have a rest, you need to take care of yourself, remember?

Well, sure, resting is an important part of taking care of myself. But so is writing. I love writing. It brings joy to my heart and soul. When I don’t write, I am not the same person. I’m not as happy. I’m not as thrilled with life.

So brain – buckle up. The work is about to begin.

This weekend, hubby is away so I am writing ALL weekend. My project is going to be The Making of Henri Higgins, my Pygmalion re-write. Publisher feedback has been the basics are good but there’s some work to do, so that’s what I’ll be doing.

Monday, I am writing of a morning again. Once Henri Higgins is done and back with the publisher, the attention turns back to The Importance of Being Ernestine. There’s a lot of work needed on that to get it up to scratch. I want to have it ready for my readers by the end of the year.

So let’s get it started in here!

Leave a Reply

